MOUNT KISCO, N.Y. -- The Mount Kisco Historical Society will hold a talk on Saturday about how railroad's transformed the village's history and character.
The talk, according to the Historical Society, will cover how Mount Kisco, which was formed from the communities of Kirbyville and New Castle Corners, transformed from the 19th century to the present.
The talk will also explore how the evolution of the railroad in the 20th century changed the downtown's character. A key moment in the village's history came, according to the Restoring Mount Kisco History Facebook page, when a downtown retail corridor was demolished in 1954-55 to make way for an overpass that replaced a grade railroad crossing.
The overpass is now part of Route 133 and connects downtown with the Captain Merritt's Hill neighborhood in the northwest corner of the village. A picture of the old retail corridor can be found here.
The gathering is scheduled to start at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 18, and will be held at the second-floor meeting room of the Mount Kisco Public Library.